Hamblen County incumbents retain seats on Election Day

     All four incumbents were successful  on Election Day in Hamblen County as Republican county commissioners Thomas Doty and Tim Goins pushed back challenges from Democrats in Districts 3 and 6, respectively. Longtime school board members, Carolyn Holt-Clawson and Janice Haun were also victorious.   Former county commissioner Rick Eldridge won the District 10 state representative Repubican primary and will oppose Democrat Barbara Simmons in November.

     8,542 ballots were cast in the August election in Hamblen County. The figure represents 26% of registered voters in the county.

     In the District 3 county commissioners race, republican Thomas Doty, sworn-in in late May to replace the late Dana Wampler.  Doty garnered 68% of the vote to retain the seat against Democrat Christy Miller Cowan.

     In District 6, fellow GOP incumbent Tim Goins captured another term, picking up 72% of the vote in a win over Nicholas Knight.

     Longtime school board members Carolyn Holt-Clawson and Janice Haun garnered 61% and and 70% of the vote, respectively, in their elections wins.

     In the GOP District 10 state rep primary, Rick Eldridge earned the right to face Democrat Barbara Simmons in November as he received 63% of the vote against Morristown City Councilman Tommy Pedigo. 

In neighboring counties, Crystal Ottinger was re-elected mayor of Cocke County. Mark Potts won handily, as Jefferson County mayor.  Wesley Holt beat out incumbent Pat Hankins to become the next Sheriff of Greene County.  Incumbent W.T. Daniels is mayor of Greeneville for another term.  Kevin Morrison is the new Greene County Mayor.  In the races for state House of Representatives, incumbent Republicans David Hawk and Jeremy Faison were winners in their primaries.