State Rep. Eldridge recognized for efforts to support term limits in Congress

Nashville, TN —Tennessee State Representative Rick Eldridge (district 10) was recently recognized for his efforts to support a Term Limits Amendment on Congress. This amendment was created by the U.S. Term Limits Pledge, which states that Rick Eldridge will work to cosponsor, vote for, and defend the resolution for an Article V convention, for the sole purpose of enforcing term limits on Congress.

Les Chamblee of U.S. Term Limits,  presented the distinction to Rep. Eldridge. The “Champion of Term Limits” plaque reads, “In recognition of your pledge supporting the protection of citizen government through an Article V convention.” Eldridge pledged to support house joint resolution 5 (HJR5) which is scheduled for a house floor vote next week. The convention bill does not set the specific length of term limits as it is meant to starts a discussion among the states on what the ideal term limits of congressmembers should be.

More than sixty fellow legislators have pledged their support for the amendment, indicating that constituents want term limits on Congress. It’s noteworthy that term limits enjoy strong bipartisan support in Tennessee. According to the most recent poll conducted by RMG Research, a whopping 78% of likely voters in Tennessee support term limits on Congress, including strong support across party lines. 77% of Republicans, 90% of Democrats, and 71% of independents back this important election reform.

It is important to note that once the amendment is proposed by Congress or by states at a national convention, it must be ratified by 38 of the 50 states in order to be included as an amendment to the U.S. Constitution. Rep. Eldridge’s efforts and the support of many other legislators show that the push for term limits on Congress is gaining momentum in Tennessee.

U.S. Term Limits is the largest grassroots term limits advocacy group in the country. We connect term limits supporters with their legislators and work to pass term limits on all elected officials, particularly on the U.S. Congress. Find out more at